Skip to content

As The Faith Of A Child

November 14, 2012

I was snuggling up to my little four year old daughter tonight, trying to get her to go to sleep.  Normally she will lay her head on my bicep, wrap her hands around my forearm and drift off quickly.  Tonight she was bothered by some dry, itchy, scaly skin on the back of both her hands, caused by the cold, dry air here.  She was whimpering and begged me to do something, so I put some of my wife’s hand lotion on her hands, hoping that would soothe her enough to go to sleep.  No such luck.

After a few minutes of trying to persuade her to go to sleep, she turned to me and asked me if she should say a prayer to help her hands stop hurting.  My heart melted and I quickly assured her that saying a prayer was exactly what she should do.  With some help from me, she said a sweet, simple prayer, asking Heavenly Father to help  her hands feel better.  Immediately after her prayer, she excitedly said, “He’s making it feel better”.

She wandered off with one of the other kids, so I went downstairs to the computer and started my nightly routine of checking emails, reading articles, etc.  About ten minutes later she triumphantly came up to me and held up both her hands to show me that Heavenly Father had made the nasty rash go away.  I examined her hands and saw that where there had been a nasty red rash a half hour before, there was now only normal, healthy pink skin.

I confess I was only mildly surprised.  The fact that she had suggested that she pray clued me in that she was being prompted from the other side of the veil since that is not something she has ever mentioned before.  I was very pleased and told her she should go thank Heavenly Father in another prayer which she promptly did.

I love to see Father answer the pure, innocent prayers of a child.  There is nothing quite like it to demonstrate just how much He is in the details of our lives, how interested he is in blessing our lives if we but ask.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

